top of page
  • Writer's pictureKnut Raven

Ephemera No. 5: Dunkeld

Updated: Dec 18, 2018

There are many patterns from the mid 19th century that are just as brilliant today as they were back then. In 1850 was The book of the Salmon by Edward Fitzgibbon published, in this book we find a little gem listed as number five; Dunkeld. This pattern is quite different from the more modern Dunkeld pattern that is more orange and has a more colorful wing than the Ephemera version.


Dunkeld tied on a size 2 from my box. This fly has been fished more than just a few times.

The Dunkeld pattern listed in this book I found quite fascinating, and was also among the few patterns I had all the original materials for back when I first discovered this book. The particular fly I did back then was by no means in the typical style for that era, but it seemed like a quite promising salmon fly. The first time I fished the fly, and on the third cast, I managed to hook one of my biggest salmons to this date; if I had landed it. I have later on had good success on this pattern here in the north on sunny days, preferably early season and a bit into the summer, but it can be worth a try near the end of the season as well.


I would suggest tying this fly on a smaller hook, although the first one I tied, and lost that big salmon on, was tied on a 2/0.




Ephemera No. 5 Dunkeld (by E. Fitzgibbon, 1850)


Tag: Gold tinsel Tail: A small topping with small Jungle cock feather* Butt: Black herl Body: Flat gold tinsel Ribbing: Silver twist

Hackle: Yellow Throat: Blue jay Wings: Two small toppings mixed with mallard and peacock wing Feelers: Blue/yellow and red macaw

Head: Black herl


* Based on the fly portrayed on the plate in the book, the Jungle cock feather(s) are tied in flat, kinda like shrimp-eyes, one on each side of the topping.



# # # # #



All photos are taken by me and shall not be used without permission.



67 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page